The curtain closed on the 2017 racing season at Groveton, New Hampshire’s, Speedway 51 powered by the Autosaver Group this past Saturday night, as close to 300 drivers, crewmembers, families and friends, as well as track sponsors, officials and employees gathered at the Town & Country Resort in Gorham, New Hampshire for the season ending awards banquet.



Championship trophies were awarded to the following: North Country Ford Late Models, Corey Mason. Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman, Brendan Moodie. Caron Fabrication Street Stocks, Bunker Hodgdon. White Mountains Community College Cyclones, Chris Ouellette and Twisted Tea Angels, Vanessa Brown-Savage. North Country Family Restaurant Go-Kart Series champs were also recognized, as well as the A.B. Excavating Daredevil Youth Racers…


            Specialty awards were as follows:


A.B. Excavating Daredevils

Hard Charger Award – Jesse Dunham

Most Improved Driver – Hunter King

Sportsmanship – Kyle Labounty


Twisted Tea Angels

Hard Charger Award – Shawna Whitcomb

Most Improved Driver – Alexus Call

Sportsmanship – Vanessa Savage-Brown


White Mountains Community College Cyclones

Hard Charger Award – Todd Derrington

Most Improved Driver – Matt Mason

Sportsmanship – Garrett Labounty


Caron Fabrication Street Stocks

Hard Charger Award – Brett Rowell

Most Improved Driver – Allan Birch

Sportsmanship – Kasey Beattie





Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman

Hard Charger Award – Ryan Boutin

Most Improved Driver – Bill Stebbins Jr.

Sportsmanship – Derrick Calkins


North Country Ford Late Models

Hard Charger Award – Brendan Moodie

Most Improved Driver – Kevin Boutin

Sportsmanship – Chip Grenier


            The following names were inducted into the Speedway 51 Hall of Fame by current Hall of Famers, Pete Marshall and Butch Mitchell. Bill Stebbins Sr., Freddie Mills, Mike Mills, Randy Potter and Ralph Stygles.


            Dick Therrien won the coveted Bobby Shores Memorial Award presented by Butch Mitchell. Shore’s was a legend in the racing world, known for his knowledge and dedication to racing, all the while working from a wheel chair. Appreciation Awards were presented by Pete and Nancy Marshall to Jack Call and Min Kennett. The Speedway 51 Award also went to Dick Therrien presented by Joey Laquerre and Pam Dunkling.


            The 2017 Speedway 51 Driver of the Year award went to Perras Ace Hardware Tiger Sportsman driver, Brendan Moodie. Moodie scored eleven victories in his championship season.


            Plans are being made for 2018 at Speedway 51 powered by the Autosaver Group. For more information visit the track website at Speedway 51 is located at 78 Craggy Road in Groveton, New Hampshire.